About Us

We are a non-government organisation (NGO) in Malaysia to promote the study of science within the context of agriculture and to champion environmental stewardship. Inaugurated on April 2, 1971 with 26 founding members, we have since grown into a full-fledged professional entity, having a membership of over 600. Our members include professionals working in both the public and private sectors, within and outside Malaysia.

Our Objectives

  • To promote the study of soil science and to create public awareness on the importance of soil conservation within the context of sustainable land management.
  • To review areas of soil study relevant for national development.
  • To disburse small grants to needy students and to members attending seminars.

MSSS Management Committee 2023/2024

Immediate Past President Prof. Dr. Che Fauziah Ishak (UPM)
President Dr. Rosazlin Abdullah (UM)
Vice President (Pen. Malaysia) Dr. Muhammad Firdaus Sulaiman (UPM)
Vice President (Sarawak) Datu Dr. Lulie Melling (TROPI)
Vice President (Sabah) Mr. Jutom Ongkosing (DOA)
Hon. Secretary Dr. Adibah Mohd Amin (UPM)
Asst. Hon. Secretary Dr. Norliyana Zin Zawawi (MPOB)
Hon. Treasurer Dr. Ali Tan Kee Zuan (UPM)
Hon. Asst. Treasurer Ms. Intan Nadhirah Masri (MARDI)
Members Dr. Vijiandran Juva Rajah (UPB)
Dr. V Jeyanny Vijayanathan (FRIM)
Dr. Khairun Nisa Kamarudin (UiTM)
Dr. Keeren Sundara Rajoo (UPM)
Co_Opted Member Dr. Nur Shuhada Muhamad Tajudin (IIUM)
Hon. Auditors Dr. Mohd Shafar Jefri Mokhatar (UPM)
Mr. Muhammad Zamir Abdul Rasid (MARDI)